Reflection of bcm110 so far

When we all sat in the lecture hall for our first bcm110 lecture 6 weeks ago, I was extremely nervous. I didn’t know too much about the media or the different issues surrounding it but was eager to learn. I have never done anything like blogging before, so when we were told that was our first assignment I freaked out a little. I mean, I’ve got a Facebook account but I’m more of a silent scroller, reading what everyone else is up to and watching the funny videos but rarely posting a status or commenting on something. I’ve noticed though, since starting the blogging assessments for this subject and bcm112, I have become a bit more vocal in posting statuses and presenting my opinion more regularly. One thing I enjoyed about the blog assignment was that we were able to read other people’s work and see how their opinions differ to our own, while also getting tips on writing style from our peers.

Throughout the last couple of weeks we have been focusing on many media related topics including, the concept of media effects, semiotics, media ownership regulation and control and the public sphere. For me, the most interesting was the lecture in media effects. I love analysis what causes someone to say or do something in particular so this topic was definitely a favourite. The one I least liked was last weeks because I still don’t quite understand the notion of the public sphere. I know the definition and we discussed it in the tutorial but I feel like its a topic I know the least about.

I have learnt so much in the last six weeks, and I have enjoyed every moment of it. This is definitely my favourite subject this semester and that is partly because of the content but also because of Sue. She is such a great lecturer and I’m sure she could make even calculus seem fun.

Leave a Reply

